Skip to main content

Managing Orders, Cancellations, and Workflows in Fulfillment

Close workflows, handle purchase order cancellations, and manage order visibility in the Fulfillment dashboard.

B
Written by Bri Eckert

Closing a Workflow

  • Closing a workflow marks the order as complete within your system. It does not communicate a cancellation to the trading partner.

  • Close a workflow only when the order is fully cancelled or fulfilled and no further documents (shipment, invoice) are required.

  • Once a workflow is closed it cannot be reopened and no further documents can be generated or sent in the workflow.

  • To close a workflow from the PO view: open the PO and select the Close Workflow icon.

  • To close a workflow from the transaction search page: use the ellipsis (more options) next to the order and choose Close Workflow.

  • If the order was acknowledged and is still being fulfilled (backordered items may still ship): do not close the workflow until all fulfilment is complete.


Cancelling a Purchase Order

  • If your retailer has cancelled via an 860 (PO Change): accept the change in the portal. This will close the order automatically.

  • If your retailer has cancelled outside of an 860: you can close or archive the order manually in Fulfillment.

  • If the trading partner supports 855 rejections: send an 855 with the acknowledgement type set to Rejected. If the retailer confirms that they will cancel the order, you can then close and/or archive the order.

  • If the trading partner does not support 855 rejections: contact the retailer to request the cancellation. Once confirmed, close and/or archive the order.

  • If the trading partner cancelled a PO in error: request that they resend it as a new PO with a new PO number.

  • If a PO shows a Stand-Alone Order-Cancellation change but has already been shipped, invoiced, or received: reject the PO change to prevent the cancellation from affecting a fulfilled order.


Archiving Orders

  • Archiving removes an order from your active dashboard view and Transactions results without deleting the record.

  • Archiving does not cancel the order or communicate anything to the trading partner.

  • To archive: locate the order, select the Archive button (top-right on the order). The order moves to the Archived documents section.

  • Archived docs can be located by going to the Transactions tab, opening the Advanced Search options, and selecting either ‘Include Archived documents’ or ‘Only Archived documents’.

  • To un-archive a document: find the Archived document by following the above steps, then click the file cabinet icon to un-Archive.

  • Archiving is appropriate for: shipped and delivered orders, cancelled orders that have been closed, and duplicate POs that do not require fulfilment.


Managing Open Orders

  • An order may remain open even after invoicing if the workflow has not been manually closed or if there are pending PO changes.

  • If a PO change is received after the necessary documents have been sent for the order, and you accept the PO Change, the newly-generated iteration of the order will show as Open, since no return documents have been sourced from the newly-generated order.

  • If a fulfilled order still shows as open: manually close the workflow once all required documents have been sent and saved.

  • Cancelled orders will not be removed from the dashboard automatically. Such orders can be closed or archived.


Handling PO Changes

  • To accept a PO change before invoicing: use the thumbs up icon on the PO to confirm the change. This will generate an updated PO that incorporates the changes. Invoice against the updated PO once accepted.

  • PO Changes must be acknowledged in the order they were received.

  • If PO changes are not reflected in SPS Commerce: request the trading partner to resend the PO change via EDI. If not possible, ship and invoice the original PO as-is and document the change via email.

  • To review and compare order changes: use the View All option in Fulfillment to see all changes for an order. Export as CSV for detailed review.


More Information

Need to contact Customer Support? Try Chat!

Did this answer your question?